The fact that the Memorial Van Damme celebrates its 30th anniversary was more than enough to have Belgian mail issue a series of stamps about the track and field event. Next to Ivo Van Damme another four former top athletes will have their own Belgian stamp.

The Belgian Secretary for Governmental Institutions, Bruno Tuybens, and Frank DaniŽls for Belgian Mail announced the series in the presence of embassy representatives from the UK, New Zeeland and Cuba.

Next to the logo of the Memorial Van Damme, five stamps portray five top athletes who shaped the name and fame of the internationally renowned track and field event: "Obviously we choose Ivo Van Damme himself and the people who were his competitors in the early years of the Memorial: Alberto Juantorena, Sebastian Coe, Steve Ovett and John Walker", according to Frank DaniŽls. Ivo Van Damme died thirty years ago. He was one of Belgian's most gifted athletes.

Understandably, organisor Wilfried Meert is very pleased. "I think it is the first track and field event that is being honoured by a nationally issued series of stamps."

From 24 April, the 500,000 stamps are available from the local post offices.