Charity

October is the international breast cancer awareness month. As breast cancer remains the most common type of cancer in women in Belgium, it touches so many people around us.

In Belgium, 1 in 8 women gets breast cancer. Each year, over 10,500 people are diagnosed with breast cancer. Both women and men, as 1 in 100 survivors is male. Each day, 7 people die due to this disease.

That is why Think-Pink emphasises the importance of the public breast cancer screening programme throughout the breast cancer awareness month October. The sooner breast cancer is diagnosed, the better the chances of healing. A message that saves lives.

Fit for life

What causes breast cancer? It is a topic scientists are researching permanently. Research has proven that eating healthily and moving on a regular basis can reduce your breast cancer risk . That is why Think Pink strongly believes in leading an active lifestyle, as an important preventive measure, and for the recovery during and after a breast treatment as well.

Think-Pink doesn't give breast cancer a chance

As the national breast cancer campaign, Think-Pink has four clear stated goals:

  • to inform about breast cancer,
  • to raise awareness on the importance of screening,
  • to finance innovative scientific research on breast cancer,
  • to support care and aftercare projects.

Think Pink achieves these goals through three funds. The Great Lengths Fund helps women who lack the means to purchase a wig or trendy headwear. With a small gesture or extra support, the Share your Care Fund Pink wants to make life easier with or after breast cancer, inside and outside of breast clinics. And Think Pink's SMART Fund finances scientific research for new methods in detection, treatment and aftercare of breast cancer in Belgium.

Visit our website at think-pink.be for more information.

Take part in the Athora Great Bruges Marathon and support the fight against breast cancer

During the breast cancer awareness month October, the Athora Great Bruges Marathon and Think Pink take the lead in the fight against breast cancer.

Do you want to support Think Pink? There are a few ways to do so. Let's line them up:

  • I register as a participant on think-pink.be and accept the challenge to collect at least € 100 (half marathon) / € 200 (marathon). In exchange, I receive a top-notch Run for Think Pink T-shirt. Think-Pink will pamper me all day, by collecting my shirt number and providing a relaxing massage after the (half) marathon among other things.
  • I register with the Athora Great Bruges Marathon and pay € 1 on top of my inscription fee, for which I receive a pink ribbon.
  • I register with the Athora Great Bruges Marathon and pay € 3 on top of my inscription fee, for which I receive a collapsible drinking cup.
  • I register with the Athora Great Bruges Marathon and pay € 5 on top of my inscription fee, for which I receive a buff.

Bonne cause

Octobre est le mois du cancer du sein international. Durant ce mois d'octobre, la campagne nationale de lutte contre le cancer du sein Think Pink attire spécialement l'attention sur le cancer du sein avec toutes sortes d'actions et de campagnes. C’est important puisque le cancer du sein reste le cancer le plus fréquent chez les femmes en Belgique.

1 femme sur 8 développe un cancer du sein au cours de sa vie. En Belgique, plus de 10 500 nouveaux cas sont diagnostiqués chaque année. Chez les femmes, ainsi que chez les hommes, car 1 compagnon sur 100 est un homme. Chaque jour, 7 victorieux en meurent.

Voilà pourquoi Think Pink focalise l'attention sur le dépistage de la maladie, pendant le mois d'octobre = mois du cancer du sein. Car le dépistage précoce augmente les chances de guérison et permet dans certains cas un traitement moins intrusif. Un message d'importance vitale, donc.

Bouger fait vivre

Quels sont les facteurs de risques du cancer du sein ? Les scientifiques cherchent constamment à les identifier. Des études nous montrent que bien manger et manger sain, ainsi qu'assez bouger réduisent les chances de développement d'un cancer du sein. Voici la raison pour laquelle Think Pink organise de nombres événements sportifs.

Think-Pink ne laisse aucune chance au cancer du sein

En tant que campagne nationale de la lutte contre le cancer du sein, Think-Pink répond à quatre objectifs :

  • Informer
  • Sensibiliser à l'importance du Mammotest, le dépistage officiel
  • Soutenir la recherche spécifique dans le cadre du cancer du sein
  • Apporter de l'aide pour les coûts des soins de santé avant et après la maladie

Think Pink a mis en place trois fonds afin de répondre à ces objectifs. Le Fonds Coupe d'Éclat assure un appui financier pour l'achat d'une perruque ou un bonnet. Le Fonds Share your Care permet aux victorieuses de recevoir une petite aide ou une attention particulière dans les moments difficiles. Enfin, le Fonds SMART permet de financier des projets novateurs en matière de recherche scientifique.

Pour plus d'infos, allez sur think-pink.be.

Participez au " Athora Great Bruges Marathon " et soutenez la lutte contre le cancer du sein

Pendant le mois d'octobre = mois du cancer du sein, le Athora Great Bruges Marathon prends l'initiative, en coopération avec Think Pink, de la lutte contre le cancer.

Comment pouvez-vous soutenir Think-Pink ? Il y a des manières différentes. On fait le point pour vous :

  • Je m'inscris sur think-pink.be, en tant que participant pour d'un événement et je m'engage à récolter au moins 100 € (semi-marathon) / 200 € (marathon). Je reçois, en échange, un T-shirt Run for Think Pink de bonne qualité. Think Pink me gâte toute la journée : allant de récupérer et me donner mon numéro de maillot jusqu'au massage après l'activité sportif.
  • Je m'inscris au Athora Great Bruges Marathon et ajoute 1 € à mon inscription. Je reçois en échange un ruban rose.
  • Je m'inscris au Athora Great Bruges Marathon et ajoute 3 € à mon inscription. Je reçois en échange un gobelet pliable.
  • Je m'inscris au Athora Great Bruges Marathon et ajoute 5 € à mon inscription. Je reçois en échange un buff.