Van Avermaet wins in Geraardsbergen
Greg Van Avermaet finally clinched a victory. In a sprint uphill he beat Tom Dumoulin and Pavel Brutt. Because of the bonus seconds, Dumoulin takes on the leader jersey from Lars Boom.
The peloton started the fifth stage in and around Geraardsbergen without Zdenek Stybar. Last year the Czech rider from team OPQS claimed the victory in Geraardsbergen, but after his horrific crash in Ardooie his Eneco Tour was over. However, with Fabian Cancellara, Sep Vanmarcke, Stijn Devolder, Tom Boonen and Lars Boom many more classic riders were aiming for the stage win.

From the start the pace was strenuous. Several riders tried to break away, but no one managed. After 37km a group of four did break, Belgian national champion Jens Debusschere, Matteo Trentin, Ivan Rovny and Pablo Lastras.

At one point they had a lead of over 6 minutes on the peloton, but then the peloton starting to catch up on them, especially Lars Boom's teammates were pulling the pack. Rovny was the first one to be reeled in, at 30km from the finish. He had been dropped on the first climb of the Mur de Grammont or Muur van Geraardsbergen.

When the peloton took on the Mur once more, overall leader Boom accelerated. The overall leader powered on and was joined by Jens Keukeleire first, Philippe Gilbert and  Manuel Quinziato next.

Not for long though and it all came together again, for an exciting finale. Especially Silvan Dillier proved very eager. Debusschere was reeled in by the peloton, but managed to stay there. With only 4km left also Lastras and Trentin were caught.

Laurens De Vreese was the first rider to jump from the decimated peloton. The rider from team Wanty-Groupe Gobert was caught by Pavel Brutt. Yet, stage victory was a thing for Greg Van Avermaet. He easily dropped the Katusha rider and the entire bunch. Tom Dumoulin was second and is the new leader overall.