About

UCI Gran Fondo World Series: The UCI Gran Fondo World Championships qualifier series

The UCI Granfondo World Series (former UCI World Cycling Tour) is a series of UCI-sanctioned races held all over the world. Some 20 qualifier events will qualify the top 25% in each age group to the UCI Granfondo World Championships, the former UWCT Final and UCI Masters Road World Championships, where the champions are awarded with the coveted rainbow jersey. After its launch in 2011, the UCI Granfondo World Series enters the 2017 season with additional events.

While promoting high level competition for Masters and Amateurs, one of the aims of this series is the globalization of "Cycling for All". With that in mind, the geographical spread of the events is very important, alongside with strict organizational and sporting criteria, and a certain tourism interest.

The UCI Gran Fondo World Series concept is focusing on both very competitive riders who either just miss the skills and talent to become a Pro Elite rider or who still want to compete at a high level at a later age, but also to fun riders who like to keep fit and finish the event.

In a partnership with renown Belgian sports marketing agency Golazo, the UCI has created the UCI Gran Fondo World Series. This partnership will be responsible for the overall organization, coordination and marketing aspects of the UGFWS qualifier events.

facebook

UCI World Cycling Tour

twitter

A propos de

UCI Gran Fondo World Series: La série qualificative pour les Championnats du Monde Gran Fondos UCI

L'UCI Granfondo World Series (UGFWS) est une série de courses approuvées par l'UCI partout dans le monde. L'UGFWS comptera un maximum de 20 épreuves qualificatives qui mèneront aux Championnats du Monde Granfondo UCI, anciennement appelé UWCT Finale et Championnats du Monde Route Masters de l'UCI. Les meilleurs 25 % de chaque catégorie d'âge lors des épreuves qualificatives auront automatiquement le droit de participer à ces Championnats du Monde et de concourir pour le très convoité maillot arc-en-ciel de l'UCI. Après le lancement de cette série en 2011, l'UCI World Cycling Tour a d'événements en plus en 2017.
La promotion de compétition de haut niveau pour les masters et amateurs et la mondialisation de la «Cyclisme pour Tous » sont les objectifs de cette série. Toutes les courses présentes au calendrier de l'UGFWS doivent satisfaire à des critères stricts, tant au niveau de l'organisation que du sport, mais aussi présenter un certain intérêt touristique.

Le concept UCI Gran Fondo World Series se concentre d’une part sur des coureurs très compétitifs qui manquent quelques pourcentages du talent des coureurs élites pro ou qui veulent encore rouler à un très haut niveau à un âge plus élevé, mais aussi pour les coureurs qui ne sont pas là pour la compétition mais plutôt pour leur condition et qui ont comme seul but de finir l’épreuve.
 
L'UCI a conclu un accord de partenariat avec l'agence de marketing sportif Golazo Sports (Belgique). Celle-ci prendra en charge l'organisation générale, la coordination et le marketing des épreuves qualificatives de l'UGFWS.

facebook

UCI World Cycling Tour

twitter