Jonathan Kiptoo has won the ING Brussels Marathon. The athlete beat his fellow Kenyan Josphat Keiyo in a somewhat strange sprint. Kiptoo put in a powerful performance with 2h12:16. The 40 year old Gino Van Geyte, who finished sixth, was the first Belgian runner.

A mainly African led group pulled the whole the 200 men strong field already from the start. Among them three Belgians: Gino Van Geyte, Vincent Ternet and Rik Ceulemans. Ceulemans was already dropped after six kilometer and abandoned after 13km.

With the Kenyans Julius Kuto Kipruto and Peter Stienei pulling the leading group the intermediate time halfway was 1h07:00. Ternet, who would finish eighth, already was behind a little, whereas Van Geyte managed to stay put a little longer, until kilometer 24.

After 30 kilometer the French Patrick Tambwe was dropped and the recent winner of the Guldensporenmarathon would eventually finished fourth. The winner would come from among three Kenyans. At the start of the uphill Tervurenlaan Maru Shadrack cracked and he would finish third in 2h13:39. At the finish Keiyo somewhat misjudged the final metres and Kiptoo got a freebie sprint, finishing in a great 2h12:16.

Another Kenyan, Yepyator Kimaiyo, dominated the women's run and finished in 2h41:20. In the half marathon the American Jason Mayerhoff won, whereas triatlete Anne-Marie Dupont was the first woman there.

Laurent Thomas and Marie-Laurence Worou won the 5 kilometer long Mini Marathon. In total no less more than 6.500 deelnemers finished one of the three different distances: 1750 in the marathon, 4,157 in the half marathon and 650 in the Mini Marathon.

Take a look at all the results of the ING Brussels marathon 

result marathon
1. Jonathan Kiptoo (Ken) 2.12.16
2. Josphat Keiyo (Ken) 2.12.19
3. Maru Shadrack (Ken) 2.13.39
4. Patrick Tambwe (Con) 2.15.29
5. Elias Chelanga (Ken) 2.17.30
6. Gino Van Geyte 2.17.34
7. David Koech (Ken) 2.18.50
8. Vincent Ternet 2.20.28
9. Bett Kimutai (Ken) 2.23.40
10. Tomasz Drag 2.25.52

1. Yepyator Kimaiyo 2.41.20
2. Reka Kovacs 3.14.03
3. Christine Poulard 3.14.19

Results half marathon
1. Jason Mayerhoff 1.07.03
2. Paolo Natali 1.09.33
3. Idrissi Elmkabli 1.12.07
4. Didier Braet 1.12.50
5. Vladimir Escajadillo 1.12.57

1. Anne-Marie Dupont 1.28.08
2. Paola Conconi 1.28.40
3. Mieke Tierens 1.32.07