X
Etixx Classics Tour Logo

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Cyclo

"Feel like a pro"

25.02.2018

Results Photo service

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Cyclo

The brand new Etixx Classics Tour opens with Omloop Het Nieuwsblad, a race of giant stature! Take a pounding on the Haaghoek cobbles, climb ten legendary hills in the Flemish Ardennes and go flat out along the new, final section over the Muur van Geraardsbergen and the Bosberg. Crown it all off with a homecoming in Meerbeke (Ninove), site of the legendary finish of the Tour of Flanders until 2011. On Saturday 24 February the professionals fight it out in the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad, and you get to shine a day later, in the first classic of the new cycling season.

You have the choice of 3 distances: 66, 93 or 128km. On the longest, you depart from Ghent and ride to Ninove like the professionals, while the others start and finish in Ninove.

Pictures Video

Sportograf

SPORTOGRAF.COM is the official photo service of the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad. These photographers have acquired a good reputation in recent years with their fully digital service and competitive prizes.

In view of the fact that they themselves are active cyclists, they have an outstanding feeling from the perspective of the participant.

Here you can find your personal pictures!

Video

Feel Like a Pro

Be like a pro during the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Cyclo! For the pros, this is the first real classic of the cycling season, just as for the cycling tourists. You will start in the shadow of 'T Kuipke, a true cycling temple. From there you will ride in the direction of Meerbeke (Ninove) where the day before the professionals will be fighting it out to win the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad. Along the way you will hit the same cobbles, climb the same tough hills and go flat out during the new finale on the Muur van Geraardsbergen and the Bosberg. Ride Like a Pro, Feel Like a Pro!

PARCOURS

In this, the classic opener of the 2018 cycling season, you ride the entirely new circuit of the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad. You take on cobble sections, such as Haaghoek and Ruitersstraat, hills such as Eikenberg, Wolvenberg or Leberg and a completely new legendary final. Got the legs for it? Go for the 128km route (4 cobble sections, 11 hills), where you start in Ghent and finish in Ninove. Or, if you prefer a shorter opening to the season, go for the 93km (1 cobble section, 8 hills) or 66km (5 hills). Both start and finish in Ninove.

  • 66km - 487 meters of climbing
  • 93km - 785 meters of climbing
  • 128km - 966 meters of climbing

Discover the course here!

GPX downloads will be available 2 days in advance through Route You.

CLIMBS AND COBBLESTONE SECTIONS

 

Parcours Eikenberg

1 Eikenberg

An old favourite in the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad and many other spring classics. Though not the longest cobblestone climb in the Flemish Ardennes, or even the steepest, the Eikenberg is the first obstacle to wind even the fittest amateur cyclist on the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Cyclo.

More info

Parcours Wolvenberg

2Wolvenberg

Immediately after the Eikenberg, the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Cyclo tackles the Wolvenberg, a steep asphalt hill in Oudenaarde with a maximum gradient of 17.3%.

More info

Parcours Molenberg

3Molenberg

Included in last year's Omloop Het Nieuwsblad for professionals circuit, and once again this year in the professional race and cyclo. With its maximum gradient of 14.2% and difficult cobbled surface, the Molenberg is certain to feature prominently in both races.

More info

Parcours Haaghoek/Leberg

4Haaghoek/Leberg

This 1.7 km-long, undulating cobblestone stretch in Sint-Kornelis-Horebeke is one of the key sections in the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad for professionals. Three runs over Haaghoek sorts the wheat from the chaff in this classic opener to the professional cycling season. Race tourists only do it once. But there is no time for rest. Straight on to the steep and narrow Leberg!

More info

Parcours Muur Van Geraardsbergen

5Muur Van Geraardsbergen

With Brakel behind you, and after a quick succession of climbs, the Muur van Geraardsbergen looms large in the distance. Last year the Muur van Geraardsbergen was reintroduced to the Tour of Flanders after an absence of several years; this year it stands as a beacon in the final section of the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad. After an undiscovered approach, with Denderoordsberg, 475 m of cobblestones and a maximum gradient of close to 20% await you in at the Muur. At the top we spare you from the Kapelmuur, attacking the descent to the Bosberg!

More info

Parcours Bosberg

6Bosberg

Never has that old saying "The last mile is always the longest" been more appropriate than in the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Cyclo. Get this final cobblestone climb behind you and you are rewarded with a straight, shallow descent to the finish. As long as you don't have a headwind!

More info

Etixx Sports Nutrition

To support you optimally during the selection of your most appropriate nutrition to help energy levels, hydration, muscle increase, recuperation,... before, during and after training and in the lead-up to a race, please have a look here.

We would like to guide you with this specific and adapted nutritional schedule for the Omloop het Nieuwsblad, with an indication on where the refreshment stations are located.

Etixx voedingsschema

Don't forget: a good preparation is half the battle! GOOD LUCK!

The essential Guide for cycling in Flanders

Cycling in Flanders

All you ever needed to know about cycling in Flanders. Discover impressive routes, challenging bucket lists and tips to plan your stay!

www.cyclinginflanders.cc

Contact

We are very much interested in how you have experienced our event. Please send us your remarks, reactions or ideas. We would love to hear from you.

ORGANISATION & PRESS

Peloton
Ottergemsesteenweg Zuid 808
9000 Gent
Belgium
Peloton

X
Etixx Classics Tour Logo

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Cyclo

"Feel like a pro"

25.02.2018

Résultats Service photo

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Cyclo

3500 cyclotouristes enthousiastes défient le froid lors du Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Cyclo

Au lendemain des pros, les cyclotouristes ont vécu une froide mais bien belle journée hivernale sur le parcours du Circuit Het Nieuwsblad. L'épreuve d'ouverture de l'Etixx Classics Tour a en effet accueilli 3500 participants!

La distance la plus populaire fut celle de 93 km, qui s'achevait à l'image des 66 km à Ninove. Mais un millier de braves avaient également rejoint le Kuipke de Gand pour s'attaquer à la plus longue des distances de cet Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Cyclo, à savoir 128 km. Au terme de 11 ascensions, 4 secteurs pavés et une déclivité de 966 mètres, ces valeureux cyclos rejoignaient à leur tour la ligne d'arrivée à Ninove sous un généreux soleil hivernal.

Au terme de cette épreuve, les visages étaient aussi tirés que souriants. Le diptyque Mur de Grammont-Bosberg, au programme de chacune des distances, constitue en effet un enchaînement mythique pour chaque amateur de vélo au terme d'une magnifique randonnée.

Regardez les photos Vidéo

Service photo

Sportograf.com est le service photo officiel de l'Omloop Het Nieuwsblad. Ces photographes se sont forgés une belle réputation auprès des participants ces dernières années grâce à leur service entièrement digitalisé et leurs prix abordables.

Etant donné qu'ils sont également cyclistes, ils ont en outre l'expérience depuis le point de vue du participant.

Vidéo

Feel Like a Pro

Pendant l'Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Cyclo vous vous sentirez comme un pro pendant toute une journée. Pour les pros, c'est le premier vrai classique de la saison cycliste, tout comme pour les cyclotouristes. Vous vous elancez dans l'ombre du 't Kuipke, véritable temple du cyclisme. De là vous partez en direction de Meerbeke (Ninove) où la veille, les cyclistes professionnels se battront pour la gloire lors de l'Omloop Het Nieuwsblad. En route, vous roulerez sur les mêmes pavés, vous gravirez les mêmes pentes fortes et vous donnerez tout lors de la finale entièrement remaniée sur le Mur de Geraardsbergen et le Bosberg. Ride like a Pro, Feel Like a Pro !

PARCOURS

Lors de cette classique d'ouverture de la saison 2018, venez découvrir le tout nouveau parcours du Omloop Het Nieuwsblad. Nous vous proposerons des secteurs pavés comme le Haaghoek ou le Ruitersstraat, des ascensions comme l'Eikenberg, le Wolvenberg et le Leberg, et un final entièrement remanié. Vous pensez avoir de bonnes jambes ? Optez pour les 128km (4 secteurs pavés, 11 ascensions) avec départ à Gand et arrivée à Ninove. Si vous préférez commencer la saison par une distance plus courte, vous pouvez opter pour les 93km (1 secteur pavé, 8 ascensions) ou 66km (5 ascensions), avec départ et arrivée à Ninove.

  • 66km - 487 mètres de dénivelé
  • 93km - 785 mètres de dénivelé
  • 128km - 966 mètres de dénivelé

Découvrez le parcours ici!

Le parcours sera disponible à télécharger 2 jours avant l'évènement via Route You.

ASCENSIONS ET SECTEURS PAVÉS

 

Parcours Eikenberg

1 Eikenberg

Une valeur sûre du Omloop het Nieuwsblad et de nombreuses autres classiques printanières. L'Eikenberg n'est pas la côte pavée la plus longue ni la plus abrupte des Ardennes flamandes, mais même les cyclotouristes aguerris devront aller puiser une première fois dans leurs réserves pour atteindre le sommet.

Plus d'info

Parcours Wolvenberg

2Wolvenberg

Après l'Eikenberg, l'Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Cyclo passera par le Wolvenberg, une côte asphaltée très abrupte située à Audenarde, avec un pourcentage maximal de 17,3 %.

Plus d'info

Parcours Molenberg

3Molenberg

Le Molenberg a refait son apparition dans le parcours du Omloop het Nieuwsblad pour les professionnels l'année dernière et sera de la partie cette année tant pour les pros que pour les cyclos. Avec un pourcentage maximum de 14,2 % et des pavés très exigeants, le Molenberg jouera un rôle majeur sur les deux parcours.

Plus d'info

Parcours Haaghoek/Leberg

4Haaghoek/Leberg

Ce secteur pavé ondoyant de 1,7 km situé à Hoorebeke-Saint-Corneille est l'un des éléments majeurs du Omloop het Nieuwsblad pros. Avec trois passages, il devrait provoquer un sérieux écrémage lors de la classique d'ouverture de la saison. En tant que cyclotouriste, vous ne devrez grimper qu'une fois le Haaghoek. Nous ne vous récompenserons cependant pas avec un peu de repos mais avec les routes étroites et escarpées du Leberg !

Plus d'info

Parcours Muur Van Geraardsbergen

5Mur de Grammont

En provenance de Brakel et après plusieurs ascensions successives, le Mur de Grammont se profilera à l'horizon. Après plusieurs années d'absence, le Mur a réintégré le parcours du Tour des Flandres l'année dernière, et fera cette année office de juge de paix dans le final du Omloop Het Nieuwsblad. Après une approche speciale, avec le Denderoordsberg, 475 m de pavés et un pourcentage maximal de presque 20 % vous attendrez. En bref, Le Mur de Grammont est l'ascension la plus mythique en route vers Meerbeke !

Plus d'info

Parcours Bosberg

6Bosberg

Les derniers kilomètres seront sans aucun doute les plus difficiles du Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Cyclo. Ceux qui parviendront à dompter la dernière ascension et les derniers pavés seront récompensés par une ligne droite légèrement descendante vers l'arrivée. Espérons que vous n'aurez pas le vent de face !

Plus d'info

Etixx Sports Nutrition

Pour vous aider de manière optimale dans la sélection de la nutrition sportive la plus approprié pour promouvoir la production d'énergie, l'hydratation, la musculation, la récupération ... avant, pendant et après l'entraînement et dans la perspective d'une compétition, vous devriez jeter un coup d'oeil ici.

Nous sommes heureux de vous accompagner avec ce programme d'alimentation spécialement adapté pour la classique de l'Omloop Het Nieuwsblad, avec une indication des bons points d'approvisionnement :

Etixx Fuels

Assurez-vous d'également visiter l'une des pharmacies partenaires d'Etixx pour choisir les bons produits.

Ne l'oubliez pas : une bonne préparation est une demi-victoire ! BONNE CHANCE !

BONNE CAUSE: ASBL STOP CANCER COLON

VZW Stop Darmkanker

 

L'asbl Stop Cancer Colon est un jeune, dynamique et indépendent ONG comme leitmotiv: Partagez la connaissance permet de sauver des vies.

Ce groupe d'action poursuit l'objectif d'informer et de sensibiliser toute la population sur un message simple : le dépistage précoce de polypes et de cancer du côlon fait baisser de façon drastique la mortalité. Le cancer du côlon est un assassin silencieux.

Chaque année, le diagnostic du cancer du côlon tombe pour plus de 8 500 Belges. Environ 9 personnes en meurent chaque jour. Le cancer du côlon est le deuxième cancer le plus fréquent chez les femmes et le troisième chez les hommes. Le patient a plus de 90% de chances de guérir complètement si on le trouve dans un stade I.

Les connaissances du grand public sur ce tueur silencieux sont loin d'être satisfaisantes. Des ressources supplémentaires sont nécessaires pour combattre la maladie.

Votre contribution peut sauver des vies ! Avec votre inscription, vous avez la possibilité de faire un don de 5,10 ou 15 € pour l'asbl Stop Cancer Colon.

Plus d'info : www.stopdarmkanker.be

Le guide essentiel pour le cyclisme en Flandre

Cycling in Flanders

Cycling in Flanders est un projet de Toerisme Vlaanderen conçu pour convaincre les étrangers amateurs de cyclisme à faire passer une montée de pavés sous leurs roues, au moins une fois dans leurs vies.

Voulez-vous en savoir plus ?

www.cyclinginflanders.cc

Contact

Les organisateurs souhaitent avoir votre avis concernant l'événement. Ils apprécient vos remarques, vos réactions et vos idées. Remplissez le formulaire ci-dessous. N'hésitez pas à réagir.

ORGANISATION & PRESSE

Peloton
Ottergemsesteenweg Zuid 808
9000 Gent
Belgique
Peloton